dscn10941.jpg And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own?

Nice, half-glass-full people may describe me as opinionated, but to call a spade a spade, I am in fact prone to getting on my high horse and can be rather critical and judgmental. So I need all the help I can get to remind me of my place when the critical spirit rises up in me.

About three years ago, just before I started FT in Cataloguing, Wynne and I took a trip to Long Beach. October marks the beginning of the storm season there, and during one of our walks, we saw a dislodged log on the sand, the after-effect of being hurled onto shore by the violence of the Pacific Ocean. It was such a curious sight that I took a picture.

For various reasons, this picture has come to mean a lot to me. Not only does it depict awe and wonder, but it also reminds me of “the log in my eye.” As my choice for a desktop image on the computer at home, it has served well as a constant and gentle reprimand.

