dscn2127.JPGMy aunt and grandma are flying back to New York today. With their month-long visit, I’ve been eating very well, of the elaborate Chinese 10 course kind, and good home cooking. The past 3 weekends have seen every possible configuration of extended family (because everyone wants to take turns treating)–with Dad’s side, then Mom’s side, back to Dad’s side, then all together. And this isn’t counting immediate family dinners and lunches. It was a bit intense, but I didn’t mind since I don’t see my relatives all that often. It’s been special.

What I have been noticing recently about my family, both immediate and extended, is how generous, good humoured, and relatively well-adjusted they are. They are earthy, humble, responsible, reasonable people backed by a good work ethic. And within the family system, they seem to have acheived a balance between independence and interdependence. I want to be like them.

I sometimes like to joke that I come from good stock, that I have a good family to marry into.

But don’t get me wrong here. I am by no means claiming I have a model family. We have had and continue to have our share of fights, disappointments, betrayals and dysfunctional dynamics. I lament the fact that many of those things have shaped me into the person I am today. However, I also see a lot of good things going for the lot of us in the here and now. I see forgiveness and committment to relationship. I see a process of redemption taking place. And it is by God’s grace that I’m part of it.

