Just found out that I lost my rental income. I was counting on this quarterly to treat myself to “something nice.” But no more major indulgences for me this season!! No new boots, and definitely no iPod.

Since I don’t own a car anymore, I’ve been renting out my parking space to a couple who lived in a ground suite two floors directly underneath mine (with exactly the same floor plan). They informed me tonight that they moved across the Square last week. The wife was also the strata council president, so I’m losing a handy connection too.

Not all that surprised though. I’ve always thought that my space is a bit squishy for two people. If there was a fight, going out would be the only option for one of the parties to get some space. Also, they’ve been having noise issues with the people upstairs (who themselves have noise issues with me) and I suspect that these played a part in the decision to move.

Out of fairness and for the sake of good relations, I offered back two months rent the couple had paid for, since they won’t be using the parking spot. But ouch!! Lacking foresight, I have spent this already. Even worse, I squandered it on things like the Miracle Shammy, Sweepa and a Micro Fibre Cleaning System, which I picked up from the PNE Marketplace earlier this month and haven’t even used yet (as my dad pointedly observed when he visited last Sunday). I didn’t feel like a sucker then, but I sure do now! (I know I’m mixing up some things here, but I’m allowed to be temporarily irrational.)

The other responsibility I’m not mentally prepared for is keeping my eyes on the parking space. Before I had rented it out, someone in the apartment picked up that I didn’t have a car and started it using it without my permission. I found out only when friends wanted to use that space but saw it was taken. Was only too happy to leave a curt note on the windowshield to stake my rightful claim (I admit I am a very territorial creature).

But such is life. Inconveniences (such as colds) and disappointments are part of the lot.

Anyhow, I will sleep this off. Know that whenever you come visit, you will have a well-positioned parking spot awaiting you.

