First day back at work after 10 days off. Surprisingly, I’m getting back into the swing of things pretty smoothly. All my cataloguing instincts and analytical abilities are intact, still sharp, ready to be unleashed on any resource that crosses my desk. Am feeling a bit tired though. But it’s completely my own doing: I stayed up watching the 3rd episode of Heroes that Simon recorded. It was the first time I watched the series (highly recommended by Nick) and now I am seriously hooked. Because I didn’t see the first 2 episodes, I squandered away some of my bedtime catching up on them via the NBC website. Arrrrgh, I don’t know how am I going to feed this new addiction, as my bunny ears (graciously given to me by Tina’s sister, Mai) don’t tap into NBC.

Much to the chagrin of my friends who love TV, I don’t have cable at my place. I can also feel a sense of deprivation, when I happen to be home and feeling bored (which fortunately is rare for me). But I don’t subscribe to cable for the following, interrelated reasons:

  1. I can’t afford it.
    • That does sound a bit extreme, but I had much rather spend my money on eating well or catching a play. So it’s more accurate to say that I can’t afford having cable as merely an option among many other things that make life enjoyable.
  2. I’m not home very often or very regularly.
    • In fact, I’m usually not home during prime time, when all the good stuff is on. Thus, I have very little opportunity to watch TV to justify having an ongoing subscription. Generally, it’s quite a lot of work for me to follow a series, often to the point of inconvenience.
  3. When I AM home, I have tons of things I need or prefer to do over watching TV.
    • And of course, my favourite show is never on when I AM home, or it tends to be a rerun.
  4. I have an addictive personality.
    • As much as possible, I avoid putting myself in a position where I unreasonably want instant gratification. It’s a terrible feeling, to want something I can’t have NOW, like wanting resolution immediately after watching a cliffhanger of an episode (“I can’t believe I have to wait a whole week!”). Yes, I can take TV way too seriously. Actually, when my favourite show is airing live, it drives me crazy when my friends channel surf, for fear of missing the moment the show comes back on. I become really focussed and intense, not all that fun to be around for the duration of the show.

Though I would miss out on being “in” and up-to-date on pop culture talk, I should probably just stick to renting TV series from the video stores when it’s issued. Or rely on friends who happen to like the same shows, are likely to record for themselves, AND willing to lend me their recordings. But that’s a tall order and hardly ideal!!

Thank goodness, my bunny ears give me CBC at least.

