Was in training all morning at work today, learning about special features on our client software. Useful, but kinda dry; it seems like every other word I hear is either subfield, search, index, string, or phrase. The trainer is from Dublin, Ohio, the capital of cutting edge cataloguing standards, so it’s sort of a big deal. But my mind naturally wandered. At some point, I was distracted by the fact that “OK” has become a standard label for the “go ahead” function on a lot of software. How did “OK” ever come to be so super-prevalent in our language, and not just in English? Who came up with it in the first place?

Because I am a word nerd through and through, I looked it up in the Oxford English Dictionary, which you can access for free via the Vancouver Public Library if you have a library card number. I found the etymology of “OK,” but couldn’t post that easily here. So I found something more shareable from NPR called “The Origin of OK.” It’s dated April 1, but I assure you, the information is accurate, verifed by the authorative OED.

