By some unforeseen circumstance, I have managed to watch a movie for the past four nights. Where did I find the time? I don’t know, but it’s been an incredibly well-paced weekend, even though it was packed with a variety of social engagements and meetings. Amazingly, I’m not tired! Am glad I have tomorrow off though.

These are the movies I watched, starting from this past Thursday:

  1. V for Vendetta
  2. Prefontaine
  3. Friends With Money
  4. I Not Stupid

Enjoyed all of these all very different flicks, though the first three were a bit heavy at times. I Not Stupid was incredibly entertaining (and a bit emotionally manipulative, squeezing a few tears out of me). Being a closet linguist, I was captivated by the Singporean dialect and accent. Some of my closest friends are South East Asians and they will humour me by breaking out into “Singlish.” Here’s an example from the movie that I (being no Henry Higgins) have crudely transliterated:

Der-RY! WHY DON’T YOU lis-TEN TO YOUR mo-DER-LAH!
T
erry, why don’t you listen to your mother?

Other real life examples of Singlish I’ve heard:

So you TINK it’s fun-NY, iz-IT?
So you think it’s funny?

DON’T TOK non-SENSE, anh.
Don’t talk nonsense.

The stresses and intonation are quite opposite to those of North American English, making Singaporeans/Malaysians sound emotionally charged and persuasively insistent to my ear. Personally, I think that it is a great dialect to preach in (Raymond, trust me, I am not mocking you).

