Here’s an interesting article forwarded to me by my desk partner, Neil. This is especially for those of you who take an interest in language and words, or have a need to maximize the likelihood of getting people to do what you want in an age where clear assertions of authority and certainty are frowned on.

Those who know me well have heard me lament on numerous occasions what Yagoda calls the “decline of the imperative mood.” To me, it is not so much an expression of authority as it is of intimacy, familiarity, and trust.

It’s all very understandable (because we don’t like to be denied our wishes) and I’m not saying there isn’t a place for it, but it drives me insane when someone I consider close feels the need to pussy-foot around me. But I guess if that happens, it is telling about where the relationship (or the other person) is at.

