I am so incredibly lucky to live in a city like Vancouver. I love Vancouver for many reasons, but what I marvel at the most is how well I get to eat here. The affordability of fine dining and variety of cuisines available is absolutely amazing.

This past weekend, I had the opportunity to dine at two very good restaurants. Went to Cru (one of my faves) for Dot’s belated birthday and the Salmon House for my dad’s birthday. Both restaurants offered 3 course menus, giving diners the best bang for their buck.

At Cru (where our foursome got a table by the window), I started with the Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio (with caperberries, truffle aioli and shaved parmesan). For the entrée, I had the Beef Strip Loin (with charred tomatillo-avocado salsa, roasted corn and three cheese chalupa). Enjoyed a glass of Pinot Nori Rosé with these dishes. To finish, I shared the Chocolate Espresso Pot-de-crème, mostly with Dot. It was smooth, rich and sweet, and washed down very well with a cup of premium Earl Grey. Portions were excellent! Service was excellent! Ambience, warm and intimate. And of course, with Pauline, Simon and me in the party, Dot couldn’t have asked for better company!

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday. At first, I was surprised that he chose and made reservations for the Salmon House a whole week before because, although an incredibly picky person, he likes to put on a “que sera sera” front and usually plays it by ear. But there was a reason: the West Coast Feast event is on this month. My dad’s really into the WCF. Our family has already gone to each of the other participating restaurants over the years, but I think the Salmon House is my dad’s favourite because of the magnificent view. My mum and dad have been there at least twice now. It was my first time, and I quite enjoyed it. Had the Roasted Butternut Squash Soup, followed by a very generous portion of Slow Braised Lamb Shank. For dessert, I savoured an Okanagan Poached Pear, poached in Quails Gate Fortified Foch and served with Birchwood Dairy butterscotch ice cream. Yum!!

Anyways, that’s all. Gotta go and catch the new episode of Heroes!

