If you like black humour, body humour, tongue-in-cheek parody, and musical theatre, you have to go see Urinetown. It’s running from Nov. 2 to Dec. 10 at the Firehall Arts Centre. It’s one of the funniest and cleverest musicals I have ever seen. Urinetown is written to mock the genre of musical theatre. In fact, each of the Urinetown numbers pay tribute to a well-known musical, so if you know your musicals, it’s fun to try matching the songs up. One of my favourites is “Don’t Be the Bunny.”

Here’s a pretty accurate review by Jerry Wasserman (of UBC English Department fame) when it did its first run not even a year ago. Also, it came highly recommended by Valerie, my musical theatre “insider” and middle manager at work. Her track record of recommendations has proven to be dead on to my quirky sense of humour and tastes.

It’s bound to sell-out, so I’m going to look into buying tickets very soon. Get hold of me if you want to come along (if I haven’t already approached you first).

As the by-line says, “You gotta go!”

