After our meeting tonight, Dot and I headed to the nearest Safeway to stock up on some clean water. It has rained so heavily recently in the Lower Mainland that a public advisory has been issued telling people to used boiled or bottled water for drinking, washing fruits and veggies, and even brushing teeth (my ex-Vancouverite friends, look at the fun you’re missing). Apparently, the turbidity levels have been unusually high, making it difficult to disinfect water.

When we got to Safeway, we found a loooong queue at the water station. People who managed to get to the water supply before we did were wheeling around cases and cases of bottled water. So not surprisingly, the section of bottled water was COMPLETELY wiped, save for a few straggling bottles of Perrier. The demand for water looked so dire that I wished I had a camera to take a picture of the empty shelves. It was a strange, strange sight to behold.

So I’m boiling my water tonight. But this temporary shortage does make me think what it would be like to have to live with an ongoing shortage of water, as many people already do on this planet. Or what it would be like to live in a place where fresh water is privatized. That would be so weird.

Gosh, we have it good here in Vancouver, don’t we?

