I have been living on my own for almost a year now. As to be expected and to my relief, some parts of living have become routine, but at the same time, other parts still feel new. I experience things as “the first” of something still. Because of my need for wonder and awe, I am happy to have this outlook, even towards life’s little domesticities.

Realizing that something is simply new helps me to better cope with change. I had much rather be refreshed by possibility, hope, adventure, than to be bogged down by fear or a sense of inconvenience. In a way, it’s a way for me to be kept on my toes, and who knows, maybe the Holy Spirit can get through to me a little easier.

Anyways, some memorable, notable firsts this past year (not necessarily positive):

  • A glorious winter sunrise from my east-facing bedroom window
  • Cooking a meal
    • Making shepherd’s pie
  • Sleeping on my own
  • My family came for dinner
  • Packing over 20 people into my apartment
  • Getting rid of a wasp
  • Changing of the seasons
  • Hosting a sleepover for some teens from Bethel
  • Being accidentally locked out of the building
  • Running the dishwasher
  • Restocking my toilet paper supply
  • Getting sick
  • Taking a bubble bath
  • Receiving my hydro bill (this is my favourite bill because it’s always less than I think it will be!)
  • Playing my favourite CDs (sounds different in a new place, makes it more like home)
  • Being away overnight
  • Watching TV with bunny ears
  • Having [insert name here] over for a visit
  • Putting my books on the shelves
  • Eating popsicles on my balcony during the summer heat wave

Well, the list can go on and on, but you get the idea. There is much more to look forward to. My life depends on it.

I DO worry sometimes that one day I will take my existence for granted and be stuck in a rut with a narrow, crusty view towards life for some overly long period of time. That would be hellish indeed. Should that ever happen, someone shoot me please. Or more benevolently, remember me in your prayers.

