I love eating pomegranate. It’s a complex fruit, sweet and tangy, full of healthy tannins, and signals the advent of the Christmas season.

I am also enchanted by that Greek myth in which Hades tricks Persephone to eat a few pomegranate seeds in the underworld, requiring her to stay with him for part of the year (if she ate more, she would have to stay longer). When Persephone is absent, Demeter, her mother and goddess of harvest, gets upset and refuses to let anything grow. Only when she returns are plants, flowers and crops permitted to grow again. A clever story to explain the seasons, I think.

This morning, I brought a pomegranate to work. Got there early, so I decided to crack it open to enjoy its contents throughout the morning. Here’s how to deseed a pomegranate quickly:

  1. Thinly cut off the top and bottom.
  2. Score the pomegranate from top to bottom.
  3. Submerge the scored pomegranate in a bowl of water (large enough for your hands to fit).
  4. Break the pieces apart. The partitioning skins will peel off easily. Clumps of the ruby-red seeds will also come out readily with a bit of gentle coaxing from the hands.

With this procedure, you can deseed a pomegranate in less than 10 minutes, depending on how aggressive you want to be. In the past, I didn’t know any better, so I used to painstakingly pick out each seed one by one.

