dscn2164.JPGA few weeks ago, I met up with YM, a good friend of mine from univerity, for dinner at the Hyatt’s Mosaic Bar and Grille. The food was okay, nothing overly remarkable, though I managed to satisfy a steak craving there.

The one blog-worthy thing about my meal, however, was dessert. The dessert menu was pretty standard fare for a hotel restaurant: cheesecake, chocolate cake, crème brûlée, sorbet, a cheese plate, etc. Each item was priced about $7. YM passed on dessert, promising to take a few bites of mine. I opted for the chocolate cake, called “Chocolate Chocolate” on the menu.

When I placed the order, I asked the server to give us two forks, as I explained, “… since we’re sharing.” A slight smirk passed ever so briefly across her face, which I thought strange, but quickly dismissed.

A few minutes later, the server brought over the chocolate cake, and my eyes nearly popped out of their sockets. The “piece” of cake turned out to be a massive cube of 6′ x 6′ x 6′!! It was big enough to feed 8 people! I was so surprised, I started laughing hysterically. After I recovered my composure, I asked the server to cut an eighth of the cube for us to eat and to box the rest.

When she brought the cake back, I picked up the box to put it out of the way. It was HEAVY, approximately 3 lbs. There was a LOT of butter and sugar in that hunk of cake.

Actually, it was so sweet, YM and I didn’t finish the sliver that was cut for us, but I didn’t feel bad about letting that go to waste. As for the rest of that ridiculously huge cake, I shared it with my colleagues a couple days later, which they marvelled at and very much appreciated on a Monday morning.

To give you a sense of how large it was, I took a picture of it against a juice carton. It’s more than two-thirds of its height!

To this day, I still can’t figure why the server didn’t warn me about its size. But it sure was a bargain for $7!!!!

