dscn2175.JPG

This past weekend has been full of new and unusual things, things I don’t see everyday. Lots of stimulation, which might explain why I’m exhausted, although it was my regular day off today. Certainly, over the past few days, I picked up some weird and wonderful things for myself, including some Bluefaced Leicester yummily dyed by sweetgeorgia (to inspire my slow-going efforts in spinning), a package of Fun Dip (one of my favourite sweets from the 80’s), and an indoor water saver kit.

It was my day off, but I caught the bus like I normally would on a working day because Sandy and I made plans to hang out early on in the day. First, I bought some tea off her, and then we went for a walk in a dog park with Polo, her beautiful golden retriever. It was good to catch up. The morning was wet and drizzly, in a pleasant way. As long as I’m well fed and properly dressed for the rain, I don’t mind it all too much. This tolerance for rain comes either from 1) being born in a small, northern B.C. fishing town or 2) having a melancholic disposition. Or from both perhaps.

After the walk, Sandy gave Polo a good cleaning and blow-dry. She is such a commited dog owner! It was the first time I ever saw a hair-dryer used on a dog. He seemed to quite like the treatment, just plunked there on his side and very relaxed. Sandy says that sometimes, he even drifts off into sleep.

By the time Polo was made all neat and pretty again, it was time for lunch. We headed to the new Capers on Cambie, where we enjoyed Smoked Turkey Grilled Apple Brie sandwiches, highly recommended by our foodie pastor.

Because I was so close to City Hall, I made a trip there and purchased a couple of those indoor water saving kits. They are only $12 (retailed for $30), so if you’re a Vancouver resident and want to do your part in being environmentally conscious, go pick one up! As you can tell, I am still reeling from the effects of watching An Inconvenient Truth.

Feeling a bit lonely, I met up with another good friend, Pauline, at Oakridge after lunch to catch up on “stuff.” I am blessed with so many good people in my life!

But after a whole day out, I was pretty zonked and drained. Had originally made plans to go to my parents’ for dinner, since I haven’t seen them for almost 2 weeks, but I decided to head home instead.

I think I will turn in early tonight.

