I finished my 2nd knitting project this evening while watching High Heel Confidential with the girls tonight. It’s a striped scarf in seed stitch knitted with Mission Falls 1824 Wool (in Sprout and Basil) on 5mm needles. Am sticking to Mission Falls for the first few projects because it’s such a good yarn for a beginner to learn on. I love the unpretentious look of the seed stitch–so neat and tidy, but cute and friendly! As I had predetermined Simon to be the lucky recipient of this 2nd project, I had him personally choose the colours, which I thought were quite tasteful.

Ever since I became “liberated” to knit competently, I have become completely engrossed with, somewhat addicted to the craft. To the point where I’ve stopped reading for pleasure altogether, which is saying a lot. But I do expect that, after this honeymoon phase, some balance will be restored. Hm, although I find knitting relaxing, I might need to consider deliberately taking a break from it on Sundays (which I’ve made my Sabbath) if I indeed do become addicted to it, especially since it comes out of a neurotic need to be productive and have instantaneous results.

