… the last time I really changed my mind about something. And I don’t mean merely a change in taste or sway in opinion, like how I feel about a certain writer or what I think about a particular restaurant.

Rather, I’m talking about a change in deep-seated beliefs/values about life, people, and even oneself.

Recently, I was confronted by the fact that I have a stereotype about people from “X”. I hadn’t thought about it consciously in years, nor had I any reason to until I actually had to engage with such a person who came into the faith community I belong to. Needless to say, I’m not proud of holding this prejudice and thus “tried” to deal with it by appearing to be nice and behaving civilly to this person, all the while keeping a cautious distance, with no real intention of getting better acquainted.

Then I wondered, “What would it take to change my mind about this person?” Unfortunately, I couldn’t think of anything, perhaps due to a lack of will or vision. Either way, it seems it would take a miracle for me to change my mind. Then I started to think that it is amazing that any of us change our minds AT ALL in areas that we are so strongly convicted or entrenched in (sometimes unawares). That could be a good thing or not, depending on what we value and the actions that come out of that.

For my own growth as a person, there are more things to change my mind about than not. But if I can’t remember the last time I REALLY changed my about something, does that suggest that, as follower of Christ, I’m not growing? But that thought doesn’t seem quite right because I don’t really live with having all the right answers; in fact, I constantly feel that Paul-ine tension.

So, after some pondering, I’ve come to this freeing conclusion: my mind is actually BEING changed as I continue to engage in my relationship with God; in my faith, I am constantly being worked on by the Spirit. Hence the tension, hence the conscience, hence the need to reflect and think twice about how I live. Struggle is good! A sign of Life! A sign of the Spirit at work!

