Three of my girlfriends and I are knitting a 24 x 36 inch baby patch blanket for Caitlyn, who’s now just over 3 weeks old. Since “many hands make light work,” each of us are knitting 6 squares of 6 x 6 inches using Mission Falls 1824 cotton in Coral, Jade, Phlox and Maize on size 7 needles. Each ball of cotton yields exactly 2 squares, so we had to buy 3 balls in each colour. The pattern used is called “Chinese Waves,” although I don’t really see what’s Chinese about it. It’s a very simple pattern, using a combination of knit and slip stitches.

Anyways, I am happy to say that I completed the last of my Maize patches last night, while watching Babel. We are aiming to patch them together late Sunday afternoon, with the Oscars running in the background. Hopefully, we’ll have it ready in time for Caitlyn’s one-month.

 

